Do you play tne Hermès birkin game?

Do you play the Hermes Birkin game ?

Unless you ve been living in a cave somewhere in Outer Mongolia, chances are you’ve heard about the Hermes lawsuit.

Apparently a couple of disgruntled shoppers are suing Hermes for their ‘shady’ practices ie not selling birkins to everyone who wants to buy one. I do find this rather strange because a lot of people who want to buy a birkin, they want one precisely because not everyone can get one, (or two or three…).

This may be creating some sort of unfair monopoly – though I don’t see how because Hermes doesn’t own the entire handbag world, just the entire Hermes handbag world. ( well they would wouldn’t they?). It’s not as if you cannot buy ANY handbag poor you – and you have to lag your possessions in a plastic bag or a straw hamper. Actually, straw hamper sounds rather chic, doesn’t it?

Have you ever been asked to buy anything from Hermes to ‘prove loyalty’, and be rewarded with a bag? I haven’t – but then again I don’t look like someone who has money to burn..to be honest never even realised there was a game. If there is though I can’t imagine actually going to court about it- I mean WHY? Just buy a different bag and hold on to your sanity – not to mention dignity !

No dear blog friends, this is NOT a hoax I know it’s April 1st!

https://amp.theguardian.com/fashion/2024/mar/20/hermes-birkin-handbag-lawsuit

I want a birkin as much as the next person, but realistically, don’t have the lifestyle or the money for one. For me a birkin is likely to remain the stuff of pure legend, as I reach for my old le pliage 😃. Even if One could afford these bags, who wants to go around with a security detail to protect the mega expensive bag? The handbag should seamlessly fit the lifestyle of its owner. If one has to sue for it- well – maybe it doesn’t does it?


So do tell if you play the Hermès game, would love to hear your views

Published by lady sarah in london

I am a handbag consultant! Reformed perfectionista, art collector and animal lover.

6 thoughts on “Do you play tne Hermès birkin game?

  1. This lawsuit is crazy! No one has the “right” to purchase something. And I’m sure the defense will be that they have limited artisans to produce all their bags as well as not being a publicly-traded company.

    I’ve surely spent enough (far too much!) over the years to qualify but unfortunately don’t live near a boutique so I don’t have a “relationship” and my Hermes purchases are made online and whenever we’re traveling. I’m never offered a quota bag although I was told a couple of years ago at 24F that they “didn’t have anything” only to see a woman heading to the register with her salesperson carrying a Constance, Birkin and Kelly.

    Although I actually do own two Birkins (purchased long ago), I prefer my Kellys and more under the radar styles such as the 24-24, Verrou and Depeches 25.

    It will be interesting to see the outcome. I suspect this couple is mainly doing this to publicize themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the main complaint is that they were told they had to buy other things in order to eventually buy a Birkin and they both have spent 1000’s to get to that point only to be told they still cannot buy a Birkin. I can see why it’s frustrating but that would turn me off anyway to even buy one of these bags. I’d rather buy a lesser known H bag than the B or K!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. 🙂 I have heard of this “game” and also, that years ago here in Europe – in an H boutique – cash had to be handed over to a sales rep, in order to be able to buy a B. – However, I have to say that (in my humble opinion) it’s a typical Californian or American (?) way to deal with not being “allowed” to purchase a B. or a K. Personally, I would not sue H, but I think it will be a very interesting case to follow up on.

    Have a very HAPPY week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes I would like to see what happens, (though I have no first hand experience of the so called game! )
      i remember you had the most beautiful chocolate brown Kelly with pink interiors- do you still use it?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started